

...be the change

Hooding Ceremony and Graduation Celebration

Friday June 12th, 2015 10:00 am Costantino Recreation Center CRC/Gym The Evergreen State College Olympia, WA

> Honoring the Class of 2015



History of Hooding

The origins of academic dress date back to the 12th and 13th centuries when early universities were taking form. The hood, draped over the shoulders and back, indicates the subject to which the degree pertains.

The assignment of color dates back to the use of white fur at Oxford University, signifying arts and sciences; colors to signify respective areas was first used in the United States in the late 19th century.

The universally recognized color for Public Administration (MPA) is

Peacock Blue

Please note: The names included in this program are those of students who applied for graduation as of a certain date. Every effort has been made to prevent omissions or errors.

Acknowledgements

Special thanks to: Ben Hargett and Electronic Media Staff; Katheleen (Kat) Morgan and Building Services Staff, Aramark Staff, our volunteer ushers; and everyone on and off-campus for helping to make this ceremony successful!



Graduates: Please pick up your check-in card and proceed to the Graduation Line-Up between Lab 1 and the Lecture Halls by 12:30 pm.

Guests: Please proceed to Guest Seating in Red Square following the Hooding Ceremony.

Commencement begins promptly at 1:00 PM.

MPA Faculty 2013-2015

Continuing Faculty or Taught in Core

Marc Baldwin Moroni Benally Larry Dzieza Larry Geri Amy Gould Cheryl Simrell King Steven Laubacher Glenn Landram Michael Lane Doug Mah Alan Parker Jenny Serpa Linda Moon Stumpff Doreen Swetkis Gregory Weeks

Emeritus Faculty

Alan Parker Linda Moon Stumpff

Adjunct Faculty

Larisa Benson Stephen Buxbaum Marla Beth Elliott Lola Flores John Fortugno Karen Fraser Leslie Hatfield **Emily Lardner** Amy Leneker **Russ Lidman** Steve Marshall John McCoy Sylvie McGee Helena Meyer-Knapp Scott Morgan Michael Mucha Grace O'Connor Jan Ward Olmstead Pam Peters Rhys Roth Tawna Sanchez Webb Sprague Eden Teachout Kathy Taylor Kris Tucker Ryan Warner

MPA Staff

Cheryl Simrell King MPA Director

Randee Gibbons, Assistant MPA Director Public & Nonprofit Administration and Public Policy Concentrations

> Puanani Nihoa, Assistant MPA Director Tribal Governance Concentration

Jan Hays, MPA Program Assistant

Laura Hendrix, MPA Marketing & Communications

MPA Hooding Ceremony

Opening Remarks

Thomas (Les) Purce, President, The Evergreen State College Michael Zimmerman, Provost, The Evergreen State College

Welcome and Introductions

Cheryl Simrell King, MPA Director & Master of Ceremonies

Keynote Speaker

Jessica Bateman, MPA Alumna 2011

Faculty Speaker Amy Gould

Student Speaker Bary Hanson, Class of 2015

Hooding Names read by Randee Gibbons

> Closing Remarks Cheryl Simrell King

Master of Public Administration (MPA) Program

We ask our graduates to ... be the change.

The Evergreen State College **Master of Public Administration** program provides high-quality professional education to students pursuing careers within local, state and federal government, tribal governments, education, nonprofit organizations and for-profit firms. Hundreds of our graduates are working in responsible positions throughout Washington State, the Northwest and beyond. Our students, faculty and staff create learning communities to explore and implement socially just, democratic public service. Together, we: think critically and creatively; communicate effectively; work collaboratively; embrace diversity; value fairness and equity; advocate powerfully on behalf of the public; and imagine new possibilities and accomplish positive change in our workplaces and in our communities.

MPA students choose one of three concentrations: Public and Nonprofit Administration, Public Policy, or Tribal Governance. Students in the Public and Nonprofit Administration and Public Policy concentrations meet together as a cohort, to prepare for or advance in careers as administrators in public or nonprofit organizations or as analysts in the public policy arena. Students in the Tribal Governance concentration meet together as a cohort and focus on structures, processes and issues specific to tribal governments, providing tribal cohort students with the knowledge and skills needed to work successfully in Indian Country. Graduates of each concentration gain vital knowledge, skills and abilities to serve their respective communities and become more effective advocates for change.

Public & Nonprofit Administration and Public Policy Cohort

MPA Graduates

2015

Jason M.H. Alvarado Diana Lynne Arens Maya Cedara Banker-Tate Susan Marie Bowe June Marie Brown **Roxanne Kathleen Bruner** Thomas Richard Burgess II Addie Helen Candib **Denise Marie Carpenter** Marcus M. Carroll Joel Robert Kim Chang Bailey Gleeson Craft Megan Marie Eliasson Dawn Jennifer Eychaner Dan R. Frank Rebecca Ann Fuller Kashmiri Rose Gavronski Mileen Anika Gilkey Joey Christine Grant William James Hannah **Donnelle Caroline Hansen** Barv A. Hanson Michelle Elaina Heacox Timothy George Hearn

Nikkole A. Hughes Leialani C. Jensen Kellee Marie Keegan Kacey Danielle Kimmel Malika Modupe Lamont Matthew Todd Lebens Justin D. Leighton Allison RyAnne Maluchnik Penelope Mena Wendy Yomiko Nanto Michael L. O'Neill Jaycie Elizabeth Osterberg Lisbeth Ann Panush Joyce Marie Phillips Jennifer Anne Popchockhakim David Michael Quinton Amanda Elaine Rains Michelle L. Richburg William John Saguil Nathan Schildmeyer Jennifer Ellen Shafer Merilee Tanbara Maria Alexandrovna Thomas Rachel Blair Walker